

<u>SOCIAL</u> STATES AND UNION TERRITORIES





CLICK HERE TO ACTIVATE



States And Union Territories



Lesson-

democratic, government, union territories, governor, chief minister, capital, national

India is a very big country. It is around 3000 kilometres wide in the east-west direction and 3200 kilometres long in north-south direction. Its population is more than 120 crores. It is also the biggest democratic country in the world. It is governed by the Central Government. It includes the President, the Prime Minister and several ministers.

In this lesson, we shall learn about :

The states and union territories of India
 Their capitals



? Do you know

" Democratic country " means " a country where the people elect their own government ".

As our country is very big, it is difficult for the Central Government to manage it, alone. So, India is divided into many smaller divisions called **States** and **Union Territories**.

Some Facts :

The President is the head of our country and the Prime Minister is the head of the Central Government.



EXAMPLE 1947. India became independent from the British rule on 15th August 1947. States: India has 29 states. Every state has its own government. It includes the Governor, the Chief Minister and several ministers. The Governor is the head of the State while the Chief Minister is the head of the State Government. Every State has its own capital. The offices of the State Government are located in the State Capital. The Central Government has control over all the States. The Central Government and the State Government work together for the progress of the country.

Activity Three new states were formed in 2000. Can you find their names? One new state was formed in 2014. Which state was it?

Think and Discuss

What similarities do you find in the positions of a President and a Governor?

The names of the States and their Capitals are given below:

State	Capital	State	Capital
1. Andhra Pradesh	Amaravati	11. Jharkhand	Ranchi
2. Arunachal Pradesh	Itanagar	12. Karnataka	Bengaluru
3. Asom	Dispur	13. Kerala	Thiruvananthapuram
4. Bihar	Patna	14. Madhya Pradesh	Bhopal
5. Chattisgarh	Raipur	15. Maharashtra	Mumbai
6. Goa	Panaji	16. Manipur	Imphal
7. Gujarat	Gandhinagar	17. Meghalaya	Shillong
8. Haryana	Chandigarh	18. Mizoram	Aizawl
9. Himachal Pradesh	Shimla	19. Nagaland	Kohima
10. Jammu and Kashmir	Srinagar	20. Odisha	Bhubaneshwar



State	Capital	State	Capital	
21. Punjab	Chandigarh	26. Tripura	Agartala	
22. Rajasthan	Jaipur	27. Uttar Pradesh	Lucknow	
23. Sikkim	Gangtok	28. Uttarakhand	Dehradun	
24. Tamil Nadu	Chennai	29. West Bengal	Kolkata	
25. Telangana	Hyderabad			
Some Facts: Chandigarh is the capital of both Punjab and Haryana.				

Union Territories : There are 7 Union Territories in India. They are directly under the control of the Central Government. These are called the Union Territories. The Union Territory is headed by the Lt. Governor.

Some Facts:

After getting independence in 1947, the first Prime Minister of India was Pt. Jawaharlal Nehru and the first President was Dr. Rajendra Prasad.

The names of the Union Territories and their Capitals are given below:

Union Territory	Capital
1. Andaman and Nicobar Islands	Port Blair
2. Chandigarh	Chandigarh
3. Dadra and Nagar Haveli	Silvassa
4. Daman and Diu	Daman
5. Lakshadweep	Kavaratti
6. Puducherry	Puducherry
7. National Capital Territory of Delhi	Delhi

Think and Discuss

Why are the Union Territories called so?

Delhi is the Capital of India. It is a Union Territory. It is now considered as a State. So, it is called the National Capital Territory (NCT).



Some Facts: Delhi became the capital of India in 1911. Earlier, our capital city was Kolkata.

Activity Write down the names of the coastal States of India.

The biggest State in area is Rajasthan and the smallest State in area is Goa. Uttar Pradesh is the biggest State in population.

THINGS TO REMEMBER

- 1. India has 29 States and 7 Union Territories.
- 2. It is the biggest democratic country in the world.
- 3. Delhi is the capital of India.
- 4. The Central Government looks after the welfare of the whole country.
- 5. Every State has its own Government and Capital.
- 6. The Union Territories are directly under the control of the Central Government.
- 7. The Central Government and the State Government work together.

EXERCISE

- A. Write 'T' for True and 'F' for False :
- 1. The Central Government controls all the States.
- 2. The head of the State is called the Governor.
- 3. Every Union Territory does not have its own government. (
- 4. There are 7 States and 29 Union Territories in India.
- 5. The President lives in the State Capital.

B. Fill in the blanks :

- 1. The ______ is the head of our country.
- 2. The ______ is the head of the Central Government.
- 3. The first Prime Minister of India was
- 4. The first President of India was____
- 5. ______ is the Capital of India.

).



27

C. Match the following:

Capital

State

- 1. Panaji () (a) TamilNadu
- 2. Jaipur () (b) Goa
- 3. Chennai () (c) WestBengal
- 4. Lucknow () (d) Rajasthan
- 5. Kolkata () (e) Uttar Pradesh

D. Write **'S'** for the State and **'U'** for the Union Territory in each box :

2. Puducherry

- 1. Kerala

 3. Sikkim
- 5. Chandigarh

7. Goa

9. Tripura

- 6. Dadra and Nagar Haveli
- 8. Daman and Diu

4. Mizoram

10.Meghalaya

E. Answer the following questions :

- 1. When did Delhi become our Capital? Which city was our Capital earlier?
- 2. Who is the head of our country?
- 3. How many States and Union Territories are there in India?
- 4. Where are the offices of the Central Government located?
- 5. Which State/Union Territory do you live in?



- F. On the outline map of India, mark the following :
- 1. Delhi
- 2. Mumbai
- 3. Jaipur
- 4. Chennai
- 5. Lucknow
- 6. Kolkata

